I’m No Longer A Teenager But Still Kind Of A Teenybopper

 

Between my heart-shaped sunglasses, bubblegum pink lipstick, and recent affliction to an Australian boy band; it’s difficult to decipher if I turned 20 or 12 today. All jokes aside, today’s the day I finally leave my teenage years behind me and charge headfirst into adulthood–well, sort of.

When I was in middle school and in the beginning of high school, I prided myself on having better music taste than most of my friends. (Sorry guys). As I’ve grown older, I’ve learned to appreciate all kinds of music because I love music. I stopped worrying about liking a band longer than someone else and just listened to whatever the hell I wanted to. I’ll be the first one to admit that 13-year-old me was pretty annoying when it came to music. However, 20-year-old still doesn’t have it all together.

Since my middle school years were filled with All Time Low (LOL my years are still filled with ATL), Fall Out Boy (Them too), Boys Like Girls, Panic!, and so many other “alternative” bands, I never really got to experience that full teenybopper lifestyle. Lucky for me, I’m starting to experience it now–at 20. My mother made a joking comment saying, “You didn’t like boy bands when you were in middle school.” Which is a lie, I loved the Jonas Brothers, I just hid it away so it wouldn’t ruin my pop punk cred.

So here I am: obsessed with bands like 5 Seconds of Summer, listening to girl groups sing about girl power, and trying to make heart-shaped sunglasses chic. However, I’m not the least bit embarrassed about my musical tastes or outlandish fashion choices.

My roommate, who also happens to be one of my best friends (Hi Liz), is kind of like my teenybopper spirit guide. We met in college when we both transferred and hit it off because we both grew up liking the same music. She was super into Fall Out Boy, Andrew McMahon, and All Time Low. It was an actual match made in friendship heaven. At the very beginning of our friendship she threw me the biggest curve ball. She’s the BIGGEST One Direction fan.

She used to feel like she had to hide the fact she loved 1D. However, one day she just decided she was going to tell the world. She owned her boy band love, and that’s what I’m trying to do.

The term “boy band” has a negative connotation. I’m sorry but I’d like a textbook definition that proves what a boy band really is because technically speaking ANY band that is made up of all males is a boy band.

The most important lesson here though; WHO CARES WHAT KIND OF MUSIC YOU LIKE. There are different types of music because different people enjoy different things. The keyword here is DIFFERENT. Don’t hate on other people’s music taste, but more importantly, own up to the music you love.

I’m at a crossroads in my life where I’m highly considering a career in the music industry is the place for me. You know what the music industry appreciates? People who can recognize talent when they hear it. So honestly,

https://31.media.tumblr.com/c68cd195e065bcd5c09b39bffd63063a/tumblr_inline_mmxim6ikEN1rdsotm.gif iregretnothing

4 thoughts on “I’m No Longer A Teenager But Still Kind Of A Teenybopper

  1. happy birthday!! and i totally agree: who cares what kind of music you like! good luck on the music industry, and again happy birthday
    xo
    Orly
    coffeebeansandhighheels.weebly.com

  2. Yasss! This post spoke to my inner Belieber. Everyone teased me and called me “Biebs” all through high school (and even still today), but I have never stopped liking Justin Bieber’s music, and I doubt that I ever will. (His personal life and sometimes flawed decision-making is another story. But #TeamBieber nonetheless.)

    Thanks for sharing a post that shows that 20-somethings, even brand new 20-somethings, can enjoy things “fit for teenagers”, especially art like music. Happy birthday!

    XO,
    Melissa at These words are my own.
    melissasirois.tumblr.com

  3. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i
    know how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates unique, google friendly posts in seconds, just search in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

