Nicole (And Liz) In The City

Nicole (And Liz) In The City

I spent less than 24 hours in New York–There was a combined total of 9 hours spent on a bus, we spent over an hour walking around trying to decide where to eat, made two trips to Tim Horton’s but most importantly attended Late Night with Seth Meyers. If that doesn’t sound successful–I don’t know what does.

Liz and I left around 5:45 A.M. on Wednesday morning and returned around 3:15 A.M. on Thursday morning. It was a long–but so worth it–day. The last time I went to New York City, I was 11 and spent a good chunk of the trip dancing. Needless to say–I was pretty excited for a day in the city. Here was my day:

11:30 A.M – 12:30 P.M.

Tim Horton's in Times Square
Tim Horton’s in Times Square

The first stop on our NYC adventure was Tim Horton’s Coffee and I could not have been happier. Tim Horton’s is a chain coffee company in Canada. Imagine the amount of Dunkin’ Donuts you see on every street in New England–that’s what Tim Horton’s is like in Canada. I’ve heard many great things and was so excited to finally try it for the first time. I got the Iced Capp (per the advice of a regular Timmy’s consumer), and I was not let down.

30 Rockefeller Plaza
30 Rockefeller Plaza

Our next stop was to NBC to attempt to pick up our tickets for Late Night with Seth Meyers. As we were about to enter the building we noticed a large crowd outside. We were curious as to what was going on–next thing I know Liz is grabbing my arm with a look of shock and says “It’s.Tina.Fey.” Needless to say, it was a good day for Liz.

12:30 P.M. – 2:45 P.M.

FAO Schwarz
FAO Schwarz Toy Store

After we were told that we could not pick up our tickets until later in the day–we took an adventure. One of the only stops we had during our trip was to the FAO Schwarz Toy Store. It’s located next to the terrifying Apple Store–seriously, that whole all glass thing is an accident waiting to happen. It was the best toy store I’ve ever seen. There were stuffed animals larger than I am. Who doesn’t love a giant stuffed animal? It’s a must go for people who are truly kids at heart.

Radio City Music
Radio City Music

Some time before or after our FAO adventure, I was able to finally see Radio City Music Hall. Growing up dancing, it was always the dream to one day become a Rockette–well, until my dance teacher told me you have to be 5’7. Although I’ll never be able to grace this specific stage, I almost cried just looking at it from the outside.

Also, we made a small stop in Times Square so that I could be the tourist that I am and take a few pictures. (Check the end of the story for more pictures).

2:45 P.M. – 5:15 P.M.

NBC Experience Store
NBC Experience Store

Finally, our wait for the tickets was over. After loitering around the NBC store for about a half hour (oooops!), we were finally able to claim our tickets. There was not much to tell about claiming our tickets. We waited in line, got our tickets, and then waited another hour until we could get in line for real.

5:15 P.M. – 8 P.M.

Outside of NBC Studios
Outside of NBC Studios

Now, this is the good stuff. After waiting in line for a short amount of time Liz and I were seated in studio 8G–second row might I add–and were audience members for Late Night with Seth Meyers. I’ve never been to a taping like this–Liz was lucky enough to win the SNL lottery last year, so she somewhat knew what to do. The taping itself was awesome.

The NBC staff told us this and I’ve heard it said many times before but it doesn’t hit you until you’re there that watching a show on TV and being a part of a studio audience is so different. I loved the show taping. The guests were Timothy Olyphant, Cristin Milioti and Bleachers. Seth did a segment entitled “Late Night Trading Cards” that I’m still not over, plus his monologue was hilarious.

The two guests were great. As most of you know, I’m a big fan of How I Met Your Mother, so I was excited to see Cristin. Liz was thrilled to see Bleachers–they were so good. At the end of their performance and the show, Seth Meyers personally handed Liz the cardboard album art that they show during the show. It was one of the coolest experiences and I hope to be able to do it again.

I may have way less money than I did on Tuesday and still tired from being on a bus until 3 A.M. but I wouldn’t change it for a second. I can’t wait to come back New York. I’m sure I’ll see you soon.

Check out some of my other pictures I took during my NYC trip!

Husky
Puppy

IMG_7055
times square

2 thoughts on “Nicole (And Liz) In The City

Leave a Reply

