A week in books—that are about to become movies: Day 1

After realizing that I hadn’t picked up a good book in way too long, I took it upon myself to immerse myself into some quality page-turning books. After creating a list of books I simply need to finish by the end of the summer, I started my first novel.

The Spectacular Now (Tim Tharp)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/524752_563943643620559_320325667_n.jpgPhoto via Facebook

There’s nothing a teenage girlsuch as myselfloves more than a story of the girl no one noticed falling in love with Mr. popular. At face value, that’s exactly what The Spectacular Now is but once you get into the mind of the protagonist, Sutter, the more you realize this story is about finding yourself. It is truly a coming of age story about a boy who’s lost. While I adored the book, I found myself getting slightly annoyed with the female lead, Aimee.

However, the book has been made into a movie which will be released in just under two weeks. It will star Shailene Woodley(The Descendants, The Secret Life) as Aimee and Miles Teller(Footloose, 21 & Over) as Sutter. The movie debuts on August 2nd and I couldn’t be more excited about it. It’s pretty clear from the trailer that the movie will not be a direct adaption from the bookwhich isn’t always a bad thingand I predict that it will be received well by audiences. It’s got that (500) Days of Summer meets A Walk to Remember vibeminus the terminal illness.

I recommend to check out both the book and the movie, when it comes out in under two weeks. If you don’t have time to pick up the bookeven though I assure you it is a quick readdefinitely take the two hours and $10 to see the movie. It will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

