Lie awake and dream of the endless possibilities

In a world completely ruled by technology, it’s possible for anyone to get their name out there. There are plenty who would argue that this is an advantage and a disadvantage. The way to assert yourself away from the crowd is to “brand” yourself. Make it known who you are, what you stand for, and why you do the things you do. There has to be a signature about that sets you apart from the next person.

Now, I’m not naive, I know that people fabricate themselves, this is the internet after all. What I’ve come to believe is, however, by fabricating who you are, you’re branding yourself unintentionally. This is not the type of branding you want. You’re saying “I’m willing to do anything so that people know who I am.” And trust me, your 15 minutes will be up and people will go back to forgetting you ever existed.

That’s not what I want. People remember you, and i mean truly remember you,  they remember what you stood for. After hearing “Legendary” a song that will soon be released by The Summer Set, I realized that is exactly what I want to be. I’ve made a commitment to my dreams, that I will follow through with them. But, I’ve also made a commitment to myself. At what point do you lose yourself in pursuit of something else? Stick to your belief system and do what makes you happy, that’s what will get you remembered. Because cliché as it sounds: “Hero’s get remembered but legends never die.”

Leave a Reply

